Rests and Other Pauses

Rest. It is often elusive and sometimes even avoided because stillness and waiting can be unnerving.

This past Sunday, our pastor talked about rest. He began by walking to the piano and playing Debussy’s “Claire de Lune,” which he explained begins not with a note but with a rest!

The Psalmist waits. He pauses from trying to make things happen, from managing the situation with his own words. He remains steadfastly fixed on the Lord and rests in the Lord’s power and authority to write his story.

I am so struck by these intimate words of faith and longing:

You know what I long for, Lord; you hear my every sigh….But I am deaf to all their threats. I am silent before them as one who cannot speak. I choose to hear nothing, and I make no reply. For I am waiting for you, O Lord. You must answer for me, O Lord my God.

Psalm 38:9, 13-15 (NLT)

There is such vulnerability and strength in pausing, waiting, and choosing to be silent before the Lord.

Taos 17

3 thoughts on “Rests and Other Pauses

Leave a Reply

