Sabbaths

Rain Over Mountains

This past weekend was an extended time for rest, reflection, relationship, recreation, and remembrance.  Remembering who I am and what I value helps to shape my thoughts and actions. It reminds me of what really, really matters. God set the world and its inhabitants in motion and he sustains us through times of rest. He said, “I gave them my Sabbaths as a sign between us, so they would know that I the Lord made them holy” (Ezekiel 20:12).

If “holy” means “set apart,” then it is appropriate to have time set apart from the busyness of life to re-calibrate, re-charge, and find time to sync with God’s good purposes in the world. Paul wrote that we who follow God are not be “conformed” to this world but “transformed by the renewing of [our] mind” so that we can align with God’s good will. (Romans 12:2).

I am so thankful for refreshment. Just like the rain that fell over the mountains in the distance in the picture, God met my dry spirit.  The week ahead will have its stresses (I have no doubt of this). But every moment spent affirming God’s peace sets a pattern of thought.  He is invited in and welcomed to join me in the middle of those stresses and offer his truth, peace, and joy again.

Leave a Reply

