Avoiding the Tyranny of To-Do Lists

I so needed to see this in the Jesus Calling devotional today….

Jesus Calling - April 1

(Young, Sarah. Jesus Calling. Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson, Inc., 2004. Print.)

If the Spirit of God brings peace, patience, kindness, and gentleness (among other things), then anything else I am experiencing is not of him. To-do lists, while they can bring a measure of peace, can overtake things.  I make to-do lists ALL the time. Accomplishing these tasks can fool me into thinking I’ve got life buttoned up. Rather than aim to get all things settled, I want to lean in to the Spirit of God who brings peace. And I want to pay attention if peace doesn’t characterize the emotional landscape of the day.

3 thoughts on “Avoiding the Tyranny of To-Do Lists

  1. I absolutely adore Jesus Calling. I loved today’s message, too, and I tried to make a conscious effort to talk to Him all day about my thoughts and feelings. It ended up being a really freaking hard day for me, but I really tried to stay in touch. It’s easier said than done!

  2. I like what you are thinking–that peace or lack thereof can be a sort of spiritual barometer of our relationship with God. It is so easy to be distracted and aggravated by the events, wear and tear of everyday living. First our souls, then the rest…Very nice post; I will be back to read more. And thank you for liking my blog–come again!

Leave a Reply

