Healthy Dinner

I have been making some changes in my eating habits these days, incorporating more plant-based foods and less animal products.  Sometimes, I find a good recipe, and other times I just improvise!

Baked Potato with Beans and Veggies Healthy Dinner 2

First, I baked a potato in the oven at 400 degrees for one hour. Meanwhile, I put diced onions, red bell pepper and stock (chicken or vegetable) in a pan and heated these for a few minutes until the onion softened.

Healthy Dinner 3

Then, I added a can of red beans and about 2/3 cup of corn. I added a splash more of the stock and allowed this to simmer on low, while the potato cooked.

Healthy Dinner 1

In the end, I added broccoli, topped the potato with the bean & veggie mixture, and sprinkled sliced almonds over it.  It was a wonderful, healthy meal and inexpensive too.

One thought on “Healthy Dinner

Leave a Reply

