Cheese: Comté (France)

The first “serious” cheese for me in this cheese venture (previous post on cheese) is Comté. I had this cheese in France several years ago, and it is a very popular French cheese. It is a hard cheese, with little grainy bits in it, and it has a tangy, nutty flavor. A very good cheese. Ok – so not very risky, since I’ve already had it. But it tastes so good, I thought I’d start off on a positive note. I had my cheese with some grapes and wonderful whole grain bread. Although I didn’t test the “good cheese makes bad wine taste ok” claim, as soon as I tasted the cheese, I thought that probably any wine would taste good with it. So, Comté is definitely a good one.

More detailed description here:
http://www.cheese-france.com/cheese/comte.htm

Leave a Reply

