Cinnamon Rolls

Today was the day for paying homage to my grandmother and her traditional tiny cinnamon roll recipe. It is exciting and fun and brings back so many memories.

The first four ingredients are combined over low heat (this recipe was actually tripled) and then allowed to cool to lukewarm temperature:
2 cups milk
3/4 c. sugar
3/4 c. butter
1 tsp. salt

While the above is cooling, dissolve 2 pkg (or 4.5 tsp) of yeast in 1/4 c. of warm water and wait until it foams up.

Then, add 1 cup flour to milk mixture along with softened yeast. Add 3 eggs. Beat well.

Add remaining 4 cups of flour (beat after each addition) and beat well.

Put ball in a bowl.

Cover bowl and put in a warm spot in the kitchen.

Let dough rise until double in bulk (about one hour). Push/punch it down and let it rise again (about another hour).

Separate the dough in to four sections, and have flour on hand to help counter the stickiness of the dough. Roll out the dough. Spread butter (melted) and cinnamon sugar on the dough.

Roll up the dough so that the total diameter is about 1.5 inches.

Slice the roll and dip the slice (flat spiral side) into melted butter and then in cinnamon sugar.

Place in pan (sugar side up). Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes.
My oven works best at 22 minutes.

Ahh! Perfect for a cinnamon-licious Christmas (the triple recipe made more than 250)
These are always much-appreciated in our family!

(p.s. the key to this recipe is having ample melted butter on hand to brush over the rolls before baking, after baking, and before serving. enjoy!)

9 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Oh my goodness! I can smell them baking!!! It is a wonderful lesson in baking sweet rolls, too. Would you visit an link to my post, Once Upon A Time Recipe so others will have the opportunity to share in this delight? Thank you!!!

  2. These look divine! I’ll try them soon!

    Just FYI– I made your scones the other day– substituted apple cider for the milk and added craisins for an apple-cranberry flavor. They were delicious and a big hit with my cohort here at school!

  3. My daughter and I just made a half-batch and they were so incredible. We are eating them right now but first wanted to thank you for the most amazing recipe for cinamon rolls!!

    Thanks, my friend. Merry Christmas.

  4. Dear sister ,
    glory to our Lord from Romania !!!!
    Happy new year and all the best in all what you doing ,my friend !!!

    sweet blessings ,
    Violeta

  5. Oh … my … yum!! Those look delicious. James was just telling me about how much he loves cinnamon rolls. These look insanely delicious. Now pardon me while I wipe the drool off my keyboard …

  6. Suz ~~ I left my comment about your cinnamond rolls on the Christmas Post by accident….

    I said your rolls look marvelous and I’m sure taste just as good. Also my son who loves to bake uses King Arthur Flour.

  7. YUM. I made these tonight for a graduation brunch for my cohort tomorrow. I had to add some more flour– 1.5 – two cups or so. Probably an altitude thing, right? And I made a quick cream cheese frosting– 1 brick of cream cheese, a stick of butter, splash of vanilla, and about two cups of confectioner’s sugar. DIVINE. One recipe made about 90 rolls. Thanks for the recipe! Definitely a new favorite!!!

  8. Thanks Susan for the walk down memory lane with this wonderful cinnamon roll recipe and instructions. Can’t beat them anywhere! They are truly delicious!

Leave a Reply

